Archive

Archive for May 17, 2011

New Pedals Attached

May 17, 2011 Leave a comment

While work was the main time-occupier of the day, the evening featured me and Laurie doing a very short bike ride.  We rode up the dreaded Steck hill at Mopac to head to Nelo’s to see if they could get off the pedals on my new bike.  They tightened them on there to the degree that I couldn’t get them off, so help was needed.  Back to the hill – this is one of the harder small hills I have tackled, which is not saying much, since I don’t do much riding up hills at all.  But I’m showing improvement, so hopefully some bigger ones can be tackled soon.  This was my easiest time up it yet, to the degree that I was going faster than Laurie, which never happens up hills.  So very nice to see improvement.

So we got up it and headed to Nelo’s.  They got my pedals off, so I was then able to put on my new Look Keo Blade Carbon pedals.  They look pretty nice on the bike and are easy to get in and out of.  They feel nice as well.  I also bought a new bike bag – a SciCon one.  It looks much spiffier than my old one and stays out of the way of my rear lights better.

Laurie was not feeling the bike love, meaning her legs were pretty sore, so we kept the ride short and came home, ended up with a 6 or 7 mile loop in total.  We’ve been trying to plan our bike riding this week around having fresh legs for Saturday’s ride.  I’ll commute to work on Wednesday, then not bike Thursday, and only maybe lightly on Friday.

We took a trip to pick up our ride packet, got our t-shirt, and then headed to Costco for a quick browse.  Finally we came home and decided to go to Threadgill’s for dinner.

All in all, a very nice evening.

Photo of the Day: